Membership & Meetings

The Governing Body is made up of representatives of the school staff, parents, the Local Authority and members of the local community. They are a group of individuals, from a variety of backgrounds, who work as a team to support the school in making sure the priorities established are the right ones for school improvement. They have general responsibility for the management of the school, acting within the framework set by national legislation and the agreed policies of the school. They work in partnership with the Headteacher to make decisions about how the school is run in order to improve the quality of education and ensure pupil progress.

Parent Governors are appointed by the Parents of the School, Co-Opted Governors are appointed by the Governing Body, Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese, Staff Governors are appointed by the Staff of the School and Local Authority Governors are appointed by the Local Authority.

If you have a question for the Governing Body please email

Governor NameCategoryTerm of OfficeCommittee MembershipAdditional Responsibilities
Mrs Liz Porte(Appointed by GB)04/03/21
- 03/03/25
Teaching & Learning
Pay Committee
Chair of Governors
Mrs Anne Clark Local Authority
(Nominated by LA and appointed by GB)
- 29/04/22
Teaching & Learning
HT Performance Management
Vice Chair of Governors
Chair of Teaching & Learning Committee
SEND Governor
Safeguarding Governor
Mr Jonathan GreenHeadteacher
ex Officio
- ongoing
Mr Matthew HorneCo-opted
(Appointed by GB)
- 23/09/24
Finance & Resources
Pay Committee
Chair of Finance & Resources Committee
Pupil Premium Link Governor
Mr Mike BeresfordFoundation
ex Officio
- 11/05/25
Teaching & Learning
Pay Committee
Richard AtkinsonParent
(Elected by parents)
- 05/02/24
Teaching & Learning
Mr Kevin Merrison06/12/21 - 05/12/25

Register of Business and Relevant Interests

The Governing Body maintains a register of business and other relevant interests. Click here to view 2021-2022 Register of Interests.

Terms of Reference

School Governance Regulations (2013)

Teaching and Learning Committee Terms of Reference – September 2019

Finance and Resources Committee Terms of Reference – September 2019

Historic (members left within last 12 months)

The following former members of the governing body have stepped down in the past year.

Governor NameCategoryTerm of OfficeCommittee MembershipPositions of ResponsibilityDeclarations of Interest
Rob CollinsParent (Appointed)30/04/23- 06/01/22Finance & Resources(2012) Director of Convent Garden Entertainment Ltd
Laura BrettStaff09/10/18- 23/11/21Teaching & LearningN/A
Nicholas LeeCo-opted
(Appointed by GB)
27/11/18- 02/10/21Finance & Resources
Pay Committee
HT Performance Management
Chair of Governors(01/19) Chair of Trustees, The Joseph Trust
Karen BrunyeeCo-opted
(Appointed by GB)
07/11/2018- 27/09/21Teaching & Learning
Pay Appeals
Safeguarding(01/16) CPD Provider at STEM Learning Ltd
Brenda ChristisonHeadteacher
ex Officio
07/04/16- 31/08/21Finance & Resources
Teaching & Learning
Pay Committee (attendee)
(2000) Educational Charities of John Dodsworth;
(04/16) Educational Foundation of John Knowles;
(2000) York Incorporated Sunday School Committee
Heather PageFoundation
(Appointed by Diocesan Board)
04/03/21- 31/08/21Finance & Resources
Pay Committee
HT Performance Management
Richard KirkmanFoundation
ex Officio
12/12/07- 25/06/21Finance & Resources
Pay Appeals
Governor at Escrick CofE Primary

Meeting Attendance Registers

The Governing Body hold two Full Governing Body meetings per term and also has two sub committees – Teaching & Learning Committee and the Finance & Resource Committee – which each meet at least once per term. The sub committees report to the Full Governing Body.  Please ask in school if you wish to see (non-confidential) minutes from these meetings.

2020-2021 Meeting Attendance Registers

2019-2020 Meeting Attendance Registers

2018-2019 Meeting Attendance Registers

2017-2018 Meeting Attendance Registers